Fallen Tree Injury Case

Are you looking to file a fall tree injury case after you’ve been hurt on someone else’s property? Give this a read and then call us for your first free consultation.

Georgia Fallen Tree Injury Statute of Limitations

You will have to follow certain laws that are in place in Augusta when you are filing a fallen tree injury claim. Under Georgia law, there is a statute of limitations that defines the amount of time that you are legally allowed to bring your case. Georgia law allows victims of fallen tree injury two years from the date of your accident to bring a case or to have it settled in civil court.

In some cases, this statute of limitation will end up being longer than two years. You may be able to bring your case past two years for cases such as medical malpractice or nursing home negligence. These cases require that you discover wrongdoing. If your parent is in nursing care and you don’t discover until much later that they have been neglected, you will have two years starting from when you have discovered the neglect which is likely a bit longer than the neglect has occurred.

Fallen Tree Injury Compensation Laws in Augusta

Quite frequently, when you bring a fallen tree injury case, as the plaintiff, you will have the defendant trying to blame you for your own injuries. Even in cases where it is quite obvious who was responsible for the accident or incident, the insurance company for the liable party will work to take the blame off of their shoulders.

It is important to understand that there will be an insurance negotiation for many of these fallen tree injury cases. This process involves Georgia’s modified comparative negligence laws. Here is how this law works:

  • Victims who are not found to be at fault receive full compensation.
  • Victims who are found to be 50% or less at fault receive reduced compensation.
  • Victims who are more than 50% at fault for their accident do not receive compensation.

For example, if you have been in a slip and fall at a grocery store where there was an uncleaned spill but the insurance company deems you 10% at fault for the accident because you were on your phone, then your award would be reduced by 10%, which would make a $10,000 award become a $9,000 award.

When you are filing a fallen tree injury case, we urge you to reach out to our Georgia injury lawyers right away to get the representation you deserve. Call today for a free consultation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *