It can be terrible when the insurance company constantly make low ball offers. It doesn't have to be that way. We know how to fix this problem. We have helped hundreds of people. We want to help you.
"Very strong lawyers that are professionals. They place they client's needs front and center. Highly recommend this law firm."
- Richard Leonard
This law firm is absolutely excellent. The lawyers and staff are polite, helpful, and efficient. I will definitely consult with them again.
- Liz Cox
"Nimmons Malchov Johnson has an excellent record. Their staff is professional and caring. Highly recommend them for your legal needs."
- Carolyn Burtard
"I was very pleased with the services of Mr. Malchow. I have recommended him a number of times to family and friends."
- Rosemary Wilkie
460 Greene Street
Augusta, Georgia 30901
When the term “personal injury case” is used, it can mean a variety of different things. Contact our Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA to schedule a free consultation. There are many different incidents and accidents that happen that can be considered a personal injury case. Those include:
It is important to note that, regardless of what you are filing for, the most important step that needs to be taken is seeking medical attention. You have to be treated for your injuries. You also will want to have Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA who specializes in personal injury take on your case.
Make sure that whoever you hire as your attorney has a proven track record of success with the personal injury accident you experienced. The more experienced Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA are more likely to give you a successful outcome.
You will have to follow certain laws that are in place in Georgia when you are filing a personal injury claim. Under Georgia law, there is a statute of limitations that defines the amount of time that you are legally allowed to bring your case. Georgia law allows victims of personal injury two years from the date of your accident to bring a case or to have it settled in civil court.
In some cases, this statute of limitation will end up being longer than two years. You may be able to bring your case past two years for cases such as medical malpractice or nursing home negligence. These cases require that you discover wrongdoing. If your parent is in nursing care and you don’t discover until much later that they have been neglected, you will have two years starting from when you have discovered the neglect which is likely a bit longer than the neglect has occurred.
Quite frequently, when you bring a personal injury case, as the plaintiff, you will have the defendant trying to blame you for your own injuries. Even in cases where it is quite obvious who was responsible for the accident or incident, the insurance company for the liable party will work to take the blame off of their shoulders.
It is important to understand that there will be an insurance negotiation for many of these personal injury cases. This process involves Georgia’s modified comparative negligence laws. Here is how this law works:
For example, if you have been in a slip and fall at a grocery store where there was an uncleaned spill but the insurance company deems you 10% at fault for the accident because you were on your phone, then your award would be reduced by 10%, which would make a $10,000 award become a $9,000 award.
Do not be surprised if you are receiving phone calls very shortly after your injury. The liable party’s insurance company wants to force responsibility for the incident onto you so that they end up owing you less or no compensation. They know that if they can get a recorded statement from you, they have a chance of you saying the wrong thing, which would be to their advantage.
They are trained to ask you questions that will likely have you slip up and give them the response that they want to hear from you. They know very well that you could hurt your chances at full compensation. We strongly advise you not to take these phone calls without meeting with an attorney first. Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA will be able to protect you in this process.
If you are looking for a knowledgeable and skilled Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA to represent you, please call our Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA today to set up your free consultation and learn how we can help you get the fairest result possible.
When you apply for workers’ compensation, you are essentially asking your employer to provide you with coverage for your medical bills, rehabilitation, and lost wages after you have been injured at work. You are granted these coverages so that you can get back to work after you have been treated for your injuries. Workers’ compensation is also given to surviving family members who have lost a loved one in a workplace accident.
Workers’ compensation can be there to help you out for a number of accidents. Typically workers’ compensation is used for people with very physical professions such as construction or industrial workers. You may also be eligible for workers’ compensation if you have been in an auto accident and your job involves driving. We see cases from employers who slipped and fell at work and hurt themselves during work hours. Essentially, if your injury took place in the working hours and at your place of work, then you will likely be eligible for workers’ compensation through your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance.
Something that is seriously important for the success of your case is making sure that your employer knows that the injury took place. Step one after your accident should be to report it to your higher ups. That may be your boss or supervisor. This needs to happen as soon as possible because you are limited to 30 days to report your injury or else you likely will no longer be eligible for the benefits of workers’ compensation.
In order to file your workers’ compensation claim, you need to fill out the form WC-14 which will be filed with the State Board of Workers’ Compensation. A copy of it should go to your employer as well as the insurance carrier for workers’ compensation.
You will be eligible for two thirds of your weekly wages if you have been unable to return to work for more than a week. There is a maximum of $575 for these weekly wage benefits. The details of how long you are permitted to have this weekly wage will vary from case to case. You may be eligible to receive these benefits for up to 400 weeks total.
In order to contact the State Board of Workers’ Compensation in Georgia, you have a few different options available to you. If you are inside of metro Atlanta, you can call (404)656-3818 and if you outside of metro Atlanta in Georgia, you can call 1-800-533-0682. If you prefer to mail in your claim, you can send it to:
State Board of Workers' Compensation
270 Peachtree Street, NW
Atlanta, GA 30303
Again, make sure that you are doing this as soon as you can as to not miss your deadline and forfeit your rights to workers’ compensation benefits.
You may be covered for an array of bills and expenses. When you have been injured at work, you may suddenly need to pay emergency room bills, doctor copays, physical therapy expenses, prescription costs, and in some cases travel expenses to get to these appointments. There may also be a need to cover your vocational rehabilitation which means the cost of entering a new field of work which may include education and training if you cannot return to the same work. This may happen to construction workers who can no longer do heavy lifting or reaching above their heads. The law protects you in those circumstances. Workers’ compensation is there to help you learn to do a different kind of job in the event of catastrophic injury. You can always reach out to the State Board of Workers’ Compensation or Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA to learn more about this procedure.
Your wellbeing is important to us and we want to make sure that you are getting the compensation you deserve. Workplace accidents can often lead to serious and life-impacting injuries that you want to get checked out as soon as possible. Hiring the right attorney to represent you is as important to the success of your case. Please do not hesitate to call our Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA today to get the compensation that you deserve. We will fight tirelessly for you.
If you have seen a car after a serious wreck, you may think that whoever was in there was lucky to be alive. Unfortunately, they may have suffered injuries that will affect them for the rest of their lives. These serious injuries justify compensation.
The injuries that we most frequently see include:
To have a successful case, the first thing that you want to do after you have been involved in an accident like this is get yourself in front of a medical professional as soon as possible. You need to be able to tell a doctor about every pain that you are feeling, no matter how small, so that they can take extensive notes on your injuries. The insurance company will be shown these notes; to maximize your compensation, it is important that they are aware of every injury you sustain in the car accident.
Your recovery is very important to us. We want to see you get better and back to as close to normal as you can be. There are many options when it comes to seeking medical attention. You can see your primary doctor, you can go to an urgent care facility, or you can go to the emergency room. Every doctor visit and treatment that you require is one step closer to getting better. It is also one more piece of evidence that we have against the liable party.
Someone involved in a car accident who is hoping to get compensation needs to understand that they are required to file their claim on time. In Georgia, state law gives the victim of a car accident two years from the date of the accident to bring their claim in civil court.
These two years go by quickly, and action should be taken immediately. We strongly discourage you from waiting to contact an attorney. As soon as you are able to, you should make a call to set up a free consultation.
If you miss your statute of limitations, you will be denied compensation for your damages. If you wait a too long, you run the risk of having a weaker case, as well. These cases take time to build; plus, witness statements can become unreliable over time and evidence can go missing.
When you are looking into starting a car accident claim, it is important to understand that there are some things that you can and cannot do. When you are hurt in a car accident, there will be someone who is responsible for causing the accident. It could be totally one person, or it could be shared fault between the parties involved.
The insurance company that represents the liable party will try everything in their power to divert responsibility onto someone else. A powerful tool that they use to put the blame onto you is a recorded statement that they ask you to give. They know that if they can get you to slip up and say something that puts you in the blame for the accident, they can either eliminate your claim or reduce what they owe you.
They will tell you that this statement will make the case go by faster and get you compensation right away, but it is damaging to your case if you want full and fair compensation from them. We highly encourage you to avoid taking this call. Talk to your lawyer before you answer a call from the insurance company.
Have you or a loved one been involved in a car accident and are now suffering serious injuries? We understand how you must be feeling. It is a terrible thing to feel like you are helpless. We are here to make this process easier on you. We will fight to get you the fullest and fairest result for your damages.
If you want a free initial consultation, please call our Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA to get the compensation that you deserve.
You are always given a statute of limitations when you are pursuing a claim. This is the amount of time that you have to bring your claim or have it settled in civil court. The statute of limitations in Georgia is two years starting from the date of your accident.
Although two years may seem like a while, you should never wait to talk to an attorney. You want them to have as much time as possible to build the strongest case. If they are further crunched for time, they may not be able to maximize your case.
If you try to bring a case late, you will no longer be eligible for compensation. The statute of limitations defines a hard deadline and, once it passes, there is nothing anyone can do to help you. The sooner you contact a lawyer, the better off you will be.
There is a considerable difference between any given personal injury case and a construction accident case in terms of compensation. Usually, a construction accident case means that you are going to go through your employer’s workers’ compensation benefits. That can compensate you for past and future:
There are instances in these cases, however, where you may have more than one option for compensation. If there was a third party involved in causing your accident, you may be able to make a claim against them. You are not allowed to sue your employer, but a third party that was negligent can be held liable for your injuries.
You will have to prove that they were the cause of your injuries. They will have either had to act in a way that harmed you or neglected to do something that would have protected you from harm.
Your lawyer will be able to go over the details of your case and help you determine the track you should take to get the fullest compensation award possible.
There are three very crucial steps that you need to take after you have been injured in a construction accident:
Reporting your injury is going to be a key step, if you want to receive compensation. You will likely do this before you do anything else. You need to tell a supervisor or your project manager that you were hurt and they need to file a report. Get a copy of this report so that you can have it for your records. Do not just tell a coworker what happened as you leave; you need to get your accident in writing to have a claim.
It is very important to get medical care as soon as you possibly can, as well. Your health is the top priority over anything else. You should have a doctor look at your injuries and treat them as soon as you can get there. If you try to ignore your injuries, you are at risk of them getting worse and turning into serious problems. The sooner you get treatment, the sooner you will recover from your injuries. Listen to all of the advice that you doctor gives you and do all of the follow up they request.
Another risk you take if you wait to seek medical attention is drawing the suspicion of the insurance company. They will look at your records and they will either claim that you lied about how bad your injuries were or how you got hurt. That would give them grounds to reduce your claim or eliminate it completely.
The third step is also so very important to the success of your case. You have to work with a competent lawyer who knows how to handle construction accident cases. You should hire someone who has specialized experience with these cases and knows what evidence needs to be collected, how scenes should be investigate, and how to put you on the right path for full compensation.
If you have suffered a serious injury in a construction accident, please call us right away to set up your free initial consultation. We want to be there to help guide you through the process and make sure that you have a strong case from start to finish.
We will work tirelessly to get you the results that you deserve. It is important that you find Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA who know what they are doing. We have handled cases like yours successfully and we want to get you the fullest and fairest amount of compensation possible. Please call us today.
Something you need to understand right off the bat when it comes to dealing with a truck accident is that you are not given an unlimited amount of time to bring your case. You have two years to file your claim in civil court, and that time starts the date of your accident.
If you decide to wait to talk to Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA, you are running the risk of making their job of defending you harder. It takes time to build these cases, and you want to give them as much time as possible.
Those two years can get away from you, so the sooner you reach out to an attorney, the better. If you miss this statute of limitations, you will no longer be allowed to collect compensation for your damages and injuries.
Georgia state law declares that all personal injury cases must be in accordance with modified comparative negligence laws. These laws dictate how much you can be compensated for depending on your role in causing the accident.
The rules for modified comparative negligence are as follows:
An example would be if you were trying to get around a swerving truck by going slightly over the speed limit and they ended up crashing into you anyway. In that scenario, you may be considered 10% at fault. If you were to receive a compensation award of $100,000, you would be able to collect $90,000 of the award to account for your fault.
There are three main damages that go into determining a compensation award.
Generally speaking, if those damages are more severe, you can receive more compensation. There will be deliberations made about how much all of those damages are worth and a fair number will be negotiated by your Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA.
If you want to ensure that you are eligible to receive compensation, you first and foremost need to understand that you are going to have to see a medical professional as soon as you can. Your health is the number one priority.
The importance of seeking medical attention is two-fold. One, you want to recover and feel better as quickly as possible. These injuries won’t take care of themselves and you should treat them as such. Two, you want to be able to have written proof from your doctor that you were injured and that these injuries were caused by a truck accident.
There is one mistake that, in all personal injury cases, we urge our clients not to make. After your accident, the insurance company will be reaching out to you to get a statement from you. It may seem like they are helpful and want to resolve your case. This is not their goal. If you want to maximize your results, you won’t give them this statement.
The insurance companies have adjusters trained to ask you questions that would result in you saying something damaging to your case. Once they have you on record giving this damaging response, they can refer to it as evidence to prove that they can reduce or eliminate your claim based on your statement.
Our lawyers can take over this communication for you, protecting your rights from insurance adjusters who are trying to save their company money.
If you have been seriously injured in a truck accident, we want to help. Please call our Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA today to set up a free initial consultation with our dependable and skilled Georgia truck accident lawyers. Allow us to take on your case and protect your right to full and fair compensation.
When someone dies in an accident caused by negligent behavior, that qualifies as a wrongful death case in which surviving family members can seek compensation. A wrongful death lawyer will be able to determine the liable party who is responsible for your loved ones passing. You will essentially be asking this liable party to compensate you for wrongful death damages, as well as pain and suffering damages. There are some cases where punitive damages will be explored if there was an intent to harm. These damages will be calculated and an award will be given to the plaintiff.
When you are starting a wrongful death claim, the very first step that you will likely need to do is have a consultation to determine if you in fact are eligible to bring a claim. There are some requirements that your circumstances would have to match for you to be able to have a case. There will need to be a liable party that was directly responsible for the passing of your loved one, and your attorney will have to be able to prove that there was negligence involved in the accident.
There are two ways someone could be responsible for an accident. They either could have done something to harm or failed to do something to protect. An example of doing something to harm would be if someone was in their car, ran through a red light and hit your loved one. An example of failing to protect would be a drug manufacturer marketing a product without detailing the risks of taking that medication. Your lawyer has to be able to show that the actions of these people were directly linked to your loved one’s passing. That is called the burden of proof.
Our lawyers are skilled in these cases and understand the work that goes into making a wrongful death case successful. There is a lot of evidence that needs to be gathered and protected, too, and only a lawyer with the right experience is going to know how to utilize that evidence to maximize your case results.
You may be wondering how you are going to recover damages from your wrongful death case. There are a few things that are covered by damages. You will be able to receive compensation for medical bills and funeral expenses, as well as punitive damages, in some cases. Those punitive damages will be given to surviving family members if the liable party acted with intent to harm, and it is usually illicit activity. These damages are designed to punish that liable party for wrongdoing.
A comprehensive list of possible wrongful death case damages include:
It is state law that determines who would be allowed to recover the damages in a wrongful death claim. Georgia statute says that the possible plaintiffs are limited to:
Georgia state law also says that, if a spouse is to receive wrongful death compensation without a will, they are obligated to allocate that award to the victim’s children. If those children are minors at the time, this award will be protected until they reach 18 years of age.
If you are searching for dependable and knowledgeable Personal Injury Attorneys Augusta, GA to represent you and your family, please give our office a call to get your free, initial consultation.